Organizational Setup

Last updated on: April 17th, 2024 at 12:17 pm

The Department is headed by Minister of Higher Education. At the Secretariat level, the Department is headed by the Secretary who is assisted by one Joint Secretary, 2 Deputy Secretaries and the support of Secretariat Assistants headed by a Section Officer.

At the Directorate level, the Department is headed by the Director with supporting Officers as under:

  • Additional Director-1
  • Joint Director-3
  • Deputy Director-3
  • Assistant Director-3
  • Special Officer-1
  • Officer on Special Duty -2
  • Nodal Officers (attached)- 2
  • Senior Accounts Officer-1 ( Deputed from Treasuries & Accounts)
  • Liaison Officer -1
  • Legal Consultant-1
  • Statistical Officer-1 ( Deputed from Economics & Statistics)
  • Computer Programmer -1

Ministerial staff support is further headed by Registrar with supporting staff as under:

  • Superintendent-2
  • Assistant Superintendent-3
  • Grade III – 59
  • Grade IV- 35

The Department envision access, expansion and qualitative improvement of higher education through Colleges & Universities. To streamline this mandate, the Department of Higher Education has established one College in all the district headquarters. This initiative was taken in view of providing opportunities of higher education to deprived sections of the society of the state. The Department has further undertaken professional and vocational education by creating additional capacity in existing institutions and establishing new ones.

There are 17 (seventeen) Government Colleges under the Department of Higher Education. The Department caters to the growth and development of these 17 Colleges. At the College level, the Institute is headed by the Principal who is assisted by the Vice-Principal.